Do you publish your Terms & Conditions on your website?

I recently came across the article 15 Professional Details That Can Land You More Work by Logan Zanelli. His eighth recommendation: establish your own policies. He advises freelancers to publish their own payment terms, cancellation policies and deposit requirements on their websites.

By establishing your own business policies, communicating them to your clients, then sticking to them, you’ll help build respect for yourself and your business. Plus, your clients will see that you’re serious about your business, and not just “winging it”.

I personally don’t have my Terms & Conditions available on my website right now. They are more or less a simplified version of what the Société française des traducteurs recommends. The ATA provides a Model Contract for Translators here.

I checked up on several freelance services websites. To my surprise, very few freelancers post their own policies.

The French-language blog La Marmite brought my attention to the Terms & Conditions of Medicalangues. What I like about these terms is their brevity. This medical translator expands on just four points: purchase order, format, payment and insurance. This means that clients will actually read them instead of going through fifteen wordy clauses. They will quickly and clearly understand that payment is due within thirty days after billing.

I’d appreciate hearing other views on publishing policies upfront. Are your terms and conditions available on your websites? Why or why not?

Are your terms easy to understand and to the point? Or long, comprehensive and more protective of your rights?

6 responses to “Do you publish your Terms & Conditions on your website?

  1. Since I am launching my own website now, this topic is very interesting for me. I’ve been thinking it over for some days and decided to publish terms and conditions.
    What will they look like? Unfortunately, I haven’t decided yet.

  2. Very interesting post. Strangely enough, I was just thinking about putting my Terms and Condition on my website, so your post comes in handy :) Thank you for the tips. Although I have my terms established already, it is always good to learn from best practices.

  3. Hello Catherine,

    I send my terms and conditions to a client when he or she requests a translation/proofreading quote. I never thought about putting it out in the open, on my website, simply because I always thought that a 2 or 3-page contract might drive people away. The idea of creating a couple of bullet points and adding a pdf link with the ATA’s contract, for example, may be a good idea!

  4. We do publish our T&C on our website and they go out as the last page of every project proposal or price quote. An interesting detail that one of our volunteer “experts” pointed out on our blog (http://www.sfmtraduction.com/marmite/?p=778) is that the link to your T&C should go in the website footer, not in the main navigation menu of the site.

  5. Ekaterina, Aga, Silvina and Sara, thank you for your comments. I do send out mine with my estimates but will soon put them in the footer of my website (Thanks for the tip, Kelly the expert). I will also reduce them to one page since I want them to be read!

  6. Thanks for sharing this. I have also been debating about whether or not to post T&C’s for a while, but am now convinced that I should.

Leave a Reply

